Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) – 2016 Assessment Information

The EYFS Profile summarises and describes children’s attainment at the end of the EYFS. It is based on ongoing observation and assessment in the three prime and four specific areas of learning, set out below:

The prime areas of learning:

  • communication and language
  • physical development
  • personal, social and emotional development


The specific areas of learning:

  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • understanding the world
  • expressive arts and design


Children are defined as having reached a good level of development at the end of the EYFS if they have achieved at least the expected level in:

  • The early learning goals in the prime areas of learning (personal, social and emotional development; physical development; and communication and language) and
  • The early learning goals in the specific areas of mathematics and literacy.

Below is a breakdown of Early Years Foundation Stage – End of Reception Levels

Areas of Learning % Achieving Expected Level
                 2016 2017
Personal, Social and Emotional Development 74% 77%
Physical Development 84% 87%
Communication and Language 76% 75%
All Prime Early Learning Goals 74% 66%
Literacy 68% 63%
Mathematics 79% 66%
Understanding the World 77% 86%
Expressive Arts and Design 85% 86%
Specific Areas 66% 62%
All Areas 66% 62%
Good Level of Development 66% 62%